Day #3: Goat Cheese and Asparagus Macaroni Salad and Garlic Roasted Tomatoes

Today I made goat cheese and asparagus macaroni salad, garlic roasted tomatoes, and chicken seasoned with salt and pepper. Unfortunately I was in a rush to get to work and I was unable to take a picture before I left.

Goat Cheese Asparagus and Macaroni Salad 

I chose this recipe because I thought it would be a good way to reuse ingredients from the last meal and to add some variety to the side dishes.

Recipe

8 ounces of goat cheese (softened)
1 lemon
1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
1 bunch asparagus (trimmed and cut into 1 1/2 inch pieces)
1 lb macaroni
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
salt (to taste)

Directions can be found at Food Republic. Recipe adapted from Food Republic by Jess Kapadia.

Edible?

  • Edible but not as great as I had hoped
  • I wasn’t expecting the lemon flavour to be so strong and therefore so tart
  • The texture of the macaroni salad was quite dry from the goat cheese.
  • It wasn’t my cup of tea and I will not remake.

Garlic Roasted Tomatoes 

I chose this recipe because I thought it was an easy way to incorporate vegetables into dinner.

Recipe 

2 (10 oz.) containers cherry tomatoes, halved
6 garlic cloves (minced)
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 teaspoon kosher salt
2 teaspoons fresh cracked black pepper

Directions can be found at The Novice Chef. Recipe adapted from the Novice Chef by Jessica.

Edible? 

  • Yes. Well.. I think I went a bit overboard with the salt and they burned a bit to eat. I halved the recipe and used only one container of tomatoes. Perhaps as I was rushing around and forgot to halve the salt?
  • Regardless they had a lot of potential. My family loved them regardless of the salt overload. Will definitely remake.

Salt and Pepper Chicken 

I simply sprinkled salt and pepper over the desired amount of raw chicken breast and cooked. Remember to season both sides.

Edible?

Yes. For such a simple seasoning, it goes quite far. Its a simple backup when other pats of your plate have strong flavours.

Leave a Reply

