Day #10: Indian Style Cauliflower and Potatoes

Hello readers,

As many of you clever folks may have discovered. I have fallen off track and have not been consecutively cooking my meals. You may have noticed that I have been publishing more than one post per day. For that, I apologize. Laziness and evenings out with friends have gotten the best of me. However, true to my original post, I will deliver 25 days worth of meals. I promise!

Indian Potatoes and Cauliflower
Indian Potatoes and Cauliflower

The theme of today’s challenge is an extension of yesterday’s challenge. Given that I had leftover cauliflower, today I cooked Indian style cauliflower and potatoes, also known as “aloo gobi”. In an indian household this would often be served with roti (a simple flat bread, similar to a tortilla) or with basmati rice. To be honest with you reader, I made this dish with my mother and we used no specific measurements for any of the ingredients. The directions for the recipe below is the most similar that I could find on the internet.

Recipe

1 medium head of Cauliflower (bite sized florets)
2 large potatoes (bite sized pieces)
Frozen green peas (optional, we did not use any)
2 Tablespoons oil
1/2 teaspoon cumin seeds
1/2 teaspoon turmeric powder
1 medium onion (chopped)
1 inch piece of ginger (minced)
5 cloves garlic (minced)
2 large tomatoes (chopped)
2 teaspoons coriander powder
1 teaspoon garam masala
Red chilli powder (to taste)
Salt (to taste)
Cilantro (for garnish)
* Please note I removed asofoetida and amchur from the recipe list as we did not use them in our recipe

Directions can be found at Show Me The Curry. Recipe adapted from Show Me The Curry.

* Please note that I did not partially cook the potatoes or cauliflower in the microwave. Instead the washed, raw vegetables were added to the pan and cooked in the tomato sauce. It is not uncommon for my mother to use the microwave to assist her in this dish if she is in a hurry. Either method works fine.

Edible?

In a comedic turn of events, my mother added way too much spice, and it was a bit difficult to eat. The lesson to be learned: if in doubt, add less spice in the beginning, you can always add more later!

Leave a Reply

