Day 14: Barbeque Chicken Whole Wheat Pizza

BBQ Pizza on Whole Wheat Crust
BBQ Pizza on Whole Wheat Crust
My family loves making pizza from “scratch”. We buy the pre-made crusts and then add our own sauce and toppings. We consider it to be healthier and cheaper than the alternative of ordering pizza. As I was gearing up to do this challenge, I began to reflect on the actual nutritional content of a store bought pizza crust. Considering the crust is processed and made with white flour, how healthy could it really be? In an effort to remove one more processed meal out of our diet and to increase the nutritional value, today’s learning objective is homemade whole wheat pizza crust.

I didn’t just want to make any old pizza; in my house its becoming the same few vegetables piled on top of tomato sauce. I was inspired me to seek out a barbeque twist.

The Recipe – Whole Wheat Pizza Crust
 1 package of dry yeast
1 1/4 cups lukewarm water
1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
2 cups of all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 tablespoon honey
1/2 teaspoon salt

Directions can be found at The FoodNetwork. Recipe adapted from The Food Network by Curtis Aikens.

The Recipe – Pizza Toppings (I took inspiration from multiple recipes and ended up using numerous toppings)

Corn
Black Beans
Pineapple (my own idea)
Red pepper
Red Onion
Cilantro
The pizza turned out fairly well. The pizza crust cooked nicely. The recipe had simple instructions but it did require a lot of preparation time. In the future, I would recommend choosing fewer toppings. I would not use the corn again as it does not add flavour or valuable nutrition. Adding flaxseed to the crust might be an excellent way to add fibre and nutrients. I’m not sure how it would taste but I’m looking forward to giving it a try!

For anyone wanting to make this as healthy as possible, I would recommend using chicken breast instead of thighs. The barbeque sauce is also full of sugar. I would suggest putting less on, buying one with reduced sugar, or making your own.

For those who make their own barbeque chicken pizza, what ingredients do you use?

Leave a Reply

